Confession .97. Every Day You’re Here, I’m Healing…

I’ve been hearing symphonies
Before all I heard was silence
A rhapsody for You and me
And every melody is timeless…

Core Values.

This was the topic of a discussion I attended this afternoon, and it definitely made me think.  Granted, I have been at a point where previous relationships have caused me to examine those things I consider to be Core Values… but this discussion made me think about some of this stuff in a different way…

What I mean is… someone brought up, for example, holding a Core Value of Honesty.  This is one that I personally hold, so of course my ears perked up when it was used as an example.

You hold a Core Value of Honesty.  But someone asks how you’re doing, and you say, “I’m fine,” despite not actually being fine.  Well, that’s not honesty.  You just lied.  Right?

For me, personally, it’s not so cut and dry.  Most of this stuff is a sliding scale, based on your worldview, your life experiences, etc.  But in this particular instance, it was about the person I’m theoretically talking to.

Is it a person I’ve known for all of two minutes and this is an ice breaker?  “How are you?”  “I’m fine.”  Because in all technicality, I am SOME degree of ‘fine’.  I’m not dead… I’m not homeless… I’m in relatively decent health for my conditions… I’m fine.  That’s not necessarily a lie.

However, is it a person that I’m incredibly close to?  Is it Nova?  Is it a few Dominant Men that I’m close to in my life?  Perhaps I’m having a bad PCOS day.  “How are you?”  “You know… my body is slowly trying to kill me from the inside out.”  That’s not a response I’d be necessarily comfortable giving to someone in the first scenario, someone I barely know… but would be perfectly normal between myself and someone I’m closer to.

Neither of them makes me a liar.  It just makes me someone who’s less comfortable laying it all out there to someone I just met.  Lol.

This can be applied to other Core Values as well.  The other example that was brought up in this person’s comment was holding a Core Value of being Honorable, but then breaking the speed limit.  That’s not Honorable. That’s breaking the law.  Right?

I’m curious what you guys think about this.  It’s not often I poke and prod you for your opinion, and I’m going to try to do that more often… cause when some of you DO give me your opinions, you all fascinate me.  So feel free to comment what you think.  Whether it’s about one of the examples I heard in the discussion, or about something else entirely.  Maybe you disagree with me and don’t think the definitions of these things are a sliding scale at all, and are firmly set in stone.  I’d love to hear about it here and chat about it.  😀

– Sorry guys.  I’m a derp.  A lot of this stuff is from the May round of FaMESHed, that just closed last night/this morning.  But, you should be able to find them in their respective mainstores over the coming few days!  But this is why you’ll see things credited as being from FaMESHed, but no SLURL to the event.  It’s currently closed to set up for its June round, that opens June 1st! –

Shape || Mine
Head || Catya New Rig (v2.10) | Catwa
* Skin || Ruby Bare (T3 Shell) | Lumae
* Ears || Leevi Ears (Short) | Lumae (included with skin pack!)
* Eye Makeup || Hasina Eyemakeup | Zibska | Powder Pack for Catwa (May) | recent!
* Cheek Mole || Vanity Case (set 01) | Just Magnetized | Powder Pack for Catwa (May) | recent!
* Lipstick || Essential Lipstick (Reds) | Pink Fuel | Powder Pack for Catwa (May) | recent!
Eye Applier || Tokyo Eyes (Pale) | Izzie’s
Hair || Ruby (Dark Reds) | Entwined | FaMESHed (May) | recent!
Body || Lara Body (v4.1) | Maitreya
Hands || wearing Maitreya bento hands, included with bodies 4.0 and later
Top || Bustier + One Shoulder Tee (Blue) | Coco | FaMESHed (May) | recent!
Pants || Frayed Flare Denim Pants (Blue) | Coco | FaMESHed (May) | recent!
Shoes || Mesh Tiger (White) | Bleich | FaMESHed (May) | recent!
Jewelry || Karima Collection | Cae | FaMESHed (May) | recent!

Chair || Garden Parlour Chair (Adult) | Cheeky Pea | FaMESHed (May) | recent!
Flowers || Wild flowers (Tall Buttercups) | Heart | FaMESHed (May) | recent!

Location || Home

Blogging Tune || “Symphony” – Clean Bandit fr. Zara Larsson

One thought on “Confession .97. Every Day You’re Here, I’m Healing…

  1. I’ve had some of the same feelings about the ” Core Value of Honesty” myself and even asked the same question. I tend to give varying degrees of ‘truth’ depending on who the person is, but it’s not a lie. So, when people say they want you to be ‘ completely honest’ with them, I tend to struggle with that because I’m not going to tell the minute details of my life to a person to whom I’m not comfortable.

    Good to know someone else thinks the same!

    Like

Leave a Reply

