Confession .64. Aren’t You Glad To Meet Me?

Been counting all your aces, you ain’t winnin’
Your phonebook full of numbers, ‘stead of names
All them vain decisions keep you jaded
You could have found the one but you won’t change…

meetme2final

So here’s the thing.  I’m kinda fed up with what the SL modeling community tells us is the ‘standard’ of what ‘pretty’ is.  I’m sick of being told I HAVE to look like everyone else (while also being lectured about being ‘unique’ and how my face is my brand)… I’m just done.  Fed up.  Over it.

So this is me.

See, when I first started SL, I loved ‘cute’ faces.  Round faces, adorable-ness.  Maybe it’s the slightly babygirl side of my personality that likes it, but I’ve always liked the ‘cute’ faces.  Doe-eyed.  Pale skinned.  Ability to play with whatever the hell hair color I wanted to.  (Especially when professional obligations in the real world keep me from doing all these crazy colors in RL like I used to.)

But I was called ‘young’.  I was told my face wasn’t good enough for a runway.  I was told I’d only ever get print work if they wanted a ‘teen’ looking avi.  Unless I completely changed my face shape.

And that started all the crazy tweaking and the several versions of Tivi that you all have seen over the last 3-4 years, ending in my Bento shape with my Lelutka Simone head.

But when I was generously gifted the Catwa Catya head by a friend, I couldn’t get the ‘squinty’ eyes that I had grown accustomed to since I had been forced to change my shape to look like every other model out there.  So I figured why not be the polar opposite?  Why not go back to what I used to love?

Why not use Catya to be me again?

And so I did.

Because let’s face it… the modeling community in Second Life preaches about branding with our faces, and how we must be ‘unique’ to us… but then they turn around in the next breath and tell us everything that is wrong with our faces and our bodies.  In addition to my face being too young, I was cursed for keeping my shape curvey, “unless it’s a lingerie show”.  Like… suddenly because I wanted some definition to my hips and my ass I was less of a model, less of a stylist, less of a talented walker.

Heaven forbid I want to be myself, right?

Like… come on.  So many of you all look the same.  There are VERY few models in SL that I can look at pictures of without names associated with them… like, just photos side by side?… and know exactly who is who.  The rest of you?  I couldn’t tell you apart if I tried.  And it’s not your fault.  You’re simply doing what your teachers tell you to do.

Do yourself a favor.  Be you.  Make them accept YOU.  Cause if they can’t?  Who the hell needs them anyway?

meetme1final

*~* Confession .64.  Aren’t You Glad To Meet Me? *~*

Shape || Mine
Head || Catya (v1.08) | Catwa
Skin || Miyu (Peach) | Enfer Sombre | Hentai Fair | recent!
Hair || Take Flight (HUD 02) | Magika
Eyes || Rigged Eyes for Catya | Catwa
Eye Applier || Intense Eyes (light grey) | Deetalez
Eyelashes || Wispy Lashes | Bossie | Kawaii Project | recent!
Cheek Stickers || Heart Stickers | Bossie | Kawaii Project | recent!
– I’m also wearing tintable freckles that are sold with this, that I left white, but the windlight I used washed them out a bit.  I’ll try to get a better picture of these in a future post, because I think they’re incredibly cute!
Body || Lara Body (v3.5) | Maitreya
* Tattoo || Harmonium (White) | White Widow | Shiny Shabby | new!
– There is so much detail in this tattoo that got washed out by the overall look I wanted in the picture.  But don’t worry, this tattoo ALSO has a black version that I will feature soon, so you all can see why I love it so much.
Top || Olenna Top (Ivory) | Junbug | Kawaii Project | recent!
Skirt || Olenna Skirt (Blush) | Junbug | Kawaii Project | recent!

* Pose (full body) || The Dottie Series Three (m) | an lar Poses | Shiny Shabby | new!
* Pose (close up) || The Dottie Series One | an lar Poses | Shiny Shabby | new!

Location || Elysion

Blogging Tune || “Meet Me” – Mickey Valen ft. Noe

Leave a Reply

