Confession .16. I Rarely Wear Shoes

We’ll be lacing the same shoes
That we’ve worn through
To the bottom of the line…

RomanHoliday2FINAL

“We’ll be looking for sunlight, or the headlights, til our wide eyes burn blind.  We’ll be lacing the same shoes that we’ve worn through to the bottom of the line.  And we know that we’re headstrong, and our heart’s gone, and the timing’s never right.  But for now let’s get away on a Roman holiday.”

This song has been on repeat for about 24 hours now.  I had never heard of Halsey before I stumbled upon this song on Tre Melvin’s newer Youtube videos and just had to look it up.  I’ve been doomed ever since.  -laughs-

This confession is both a bit silly and a bit serious.  Even now as I type this – even with my house being a little cold… cause the random storm dropped the temp a bit outside – I’m sitting at the computer barefoot.  I run around barefoot in SL 98% of the time, unless I have to actually be in public somewhere that it matters.  And even then?  I look for a floor-length skirt or pants so that I don’t need to bother with shoes in order to be presentable.  Shoes and I have just never gotten along, in physical reality or virtual.

Maybe that comes with how incredibly uncomfortable my white tennis shoes are for school/work… to the point that kicking them off when I come home from class is like a reward in and of itself, and I just never happen to put anything back on.

Of course, I’m then also the derp that wonders why she’s cold when my AC runs a bit low in my house and I’m barefoot.  Or why I’m cold when I sleep when I run the AC just as low, and also have a ceiling fan and an oscillating fan going simultaneously.  No matter the season.  (Granted, it’s Alabama, so it’s not like it gets super cold here… but still.  On 30 degree nights? It never changed.)

I know I’ve always said I’d rather be too cold than too hot… but damn.  -laughs-

In SL, I just dislike the complications associated with finding the right shoes, in the right color, in the right shade of that color… figuring out which feet the thing is for… and which height of those feet… and if I can even wear them if they come in only a “Slink” version but come a bit up the leg, when I wear a Maitreya body.  The logistics behind putting on a pair of shoes just isn’t worth it to me most of the time.  And it’s much easier and much less headache-inducing to just find a longer garment that renders shoes unnecessary.

Tivi’s Pet Peeve # I Lost Count: When people wear feet/shoes under floor-length gowns/skirts/pants that are meant to appear to go “over” the shoes.  Just… no.  Wear the alpha, detach your feet, and call it a day.  I don’t want to see you unconnected ankles cutting through your dress every time you walk.  It’s irritating.

And it’s also the only time anyone will /see/ those pretty shoes that you probably spent at least an hour trying to find, color, adjust, fit, etc…

All of that being said, when I do wear shoes in SL, I really prefer flats most of the time.  I don’t know why.  Maybe it’s the fact that I don’t wear heels in RL cause I’d break my neck that makes me not really enjoy the look of them in SL… but if I can get away with a flat, I sure as hell will.  And I’ve got my go-to pairs of flats for that, if I need them.

However, at the June round of Revamped, I have fallen in love… with a pair of flats!  Slipper Originals, a brand I had only recently heard of before she applied to join Revamped, released this adorable set of flats perfect for summer.  And with all the color options, both solid and some cute patterns, you can probably wear them with just about anything.

As set-up for Vintage Fair approaches and I get ready to not sleep and be way too busy for my own good, I figured this romper and those flats will be nice to run around in for awhile.  And after re-discovering Kokolores Hair… I just… had to take a picture.  I didn’t even put this outfit together to blog, but simply to run around in.

And yet, here I am… -laughs-

RomanHoliday1FINAL

*~* Confession .16.  I Rarely Wear Shoes *~*

..:: Shape ::.. Mine
..:: Skin ::.. Taryn (Lumiere Tone; Browless) || AlterEgo
..:: Brows ::.. Bushy Brows (Blonde) || AlterEgo
..:: Freckles ::.. Freckles (Cheek/Nose; Tintable) || AlterEgo
..:: Eyes ::.. Hope Eyes (Forest) || IKON
..:: Hair ::.. Delaney (Hud 01) || KoKoLoReS Hair
..:: Body ::.. Lara Body (v3.5) || Maitreya
..:: Hands ::.. Avatar Enhancement Hands (Casual) || Slink
..:: Feet ::.. Lara Feet (flat) || Maitreya
..:: Nails/Rings ::.. Precious Nails & Rings (Pointy) || RealEvil Industries
..:: Romper ::.. Long Sleeve Romper (Olive) || ISON
..:: Shoes ::.. Zoie Sneakers || Slipper Originals || REVAMPED

..:: Pose (photo 1) ::.. Lean 3 || ProPose

..:: Wagon Prop ::.. Wagon Dark (Adult) || Revival
* The pose for photo 2 is from the female sits menu of this prop.

..:: Location ::.. Blithe

..:: Blogging Tune ::.. “Roman Holiday” – Halsey

Leave a Reply

