Confession .05. I Drive My Grandmother’s Car

I drive your truck
I roll every window down
And I burn up every back road in this town
I find a field, tear it up
Til all the pain’s a cloud of dust
Yeah, sometimes I drive your truck…

IDriveYourTruck1FINAL

“Mama asked me this morning if I’d been by your grave.  But that flag and stone ain’t where I feel you, anyway…”

Something about being in this peaceful sim in a pretty new dress with some hair reminiscent of the ‘old Tivi’ just made me smile and get a bit nostalgic today.  I am blessed to have the sponsors that I have, and while I don’t do this often, I’d like to personally thank Mami Jewell of -AZUL- and Casandra Rain of enVOGUE for unknowingly giving me the excuse to have a rather bittersweet, tender kind of past few hours while editing these pictures and reflecting while I listen to this song and write.  It was sad, but it was a heart-warming kind of sad… if that makes sense.

A few months after my grandmother passed away, my mother informed me that I was getting her Hyundai and we were going to sell my old Buick.  I wasn’t exactly shocked that I had no say in this matter… lol… as I’ve had now 3 vehicles in my life since I began driving at 16, and do you know how I went from my first to my second?

I’m working in an amusement park the summer after my first year of college.  Memorial Day weekend comes around and I get a call from my mother.

“Are you working this weekend?”

“No, I’ve got the weekend off before I start working just weekends again.  Was gonna spend it up here with those that stuck around.  Why?”

“I need you to come home.  We’re giving Cody” my nephew “your car and we’re going to give you the burgundy Buick.”

Yes, the color needed specified, as my step-dad had just recently inherited my great aunt’s car… a Buick also, that was 4 years newer, and white.

The only thing I told my nephew about my old Dodge was I’d kick his ass if he wrecked it.  That thing was my baby.  So of course, within 6 months, he’d not only wrecked it, but totaled it.  Trying to change the radio while he was driving and ran it into a light pole.

Dumbass.  He’s lucky he didn’t die.

So that was in 2009, so 6 years or so that Buick had served me well until my grandmother passed away and mom tells me that we’re going to sell it and I’ll get grandma’s Hyundai.  We are never at a loss for vehicles in my family.  They’re my step-father’s side hobby… some people flip houses, my step-dad flips vehicles.

It was really… strange… to drive her car for the first few months that I did.  But it gradually got more and more comfortable.  And I have moments every so often, like this morning, where my blogging tune played on my way to school, and I had to pause before I got out of the car to go into the classroom and have a moment with my grandmother.  I’m very… wishy-washy religion wise.  And whether or not any of that exists, I know that I feel like my grandmother is still there sometimes when I drive her car.

On my driver’s side visor, there’s a little pin clipped to it that I’ve had since I first got the Dodge when I was 16.  “Never drive faster than your guardian angel can fly.”

If grandma flies anything like she used to drive… she’d move heaven and earth – literally – to keep up with me if she had to, all the while yelling, “Move over, bozo!  It’s Sandy’s turn!”

But grandma’s horrible driving habits are a story for another time, in another blog.  ❤

IDriveYourTruck2FINAL

*~* Confession .05.  I Drive My Grandmother’s Car *~*

..:: Shape ::.. MINE
..:: Skin ::.. Mila Skin (Almond Tone; Special Diva Makeup) || AlterEgo
* This particular makeup is not available in store; it was a raffle prize from BlackOut 2016, but Mila herself comes in all the Gen I tones and can be found in the Mainstore.
..:: Eyes ::.. Triumph Eyes (Silverleaf) || IKON
..:: Hair ::.. Kimberly (Light Reds) || enVOGUE || recent release!
..:: Body ::.. Lara Body (v3.5) || Maitreya
..:: Hands ::.. Avatar Enhancement Hands (Casual) || Slink
..:: Lipstick ::.. Cole Lipstick (Cake) || Alaskametro || Skin Fair
..:: Dress ::.. Mimosa (Nude) || -AZUL- || new release!
..:: Necklace&Ring ::.. Prophecy Jewelry Set (Sunrise) || Mandala

..:: Pose (photo 1) ::.. Neverland 4 || an lar poses
..:: Pose (photo 2) ::.. Reborn 5 || ProPose

..:: Location ::.. Gardens of Grace

..:: Blogging Tune ::.. “I Drive Your Truck” – Lee Brice

One thought on “Confession .05. I Drive My Grandmother’s Car

Leave a Reply

