It Ain’t A Pretty Picture Tonight…

I wish words weren’t like little toy guns
No sting, no hurting no one
Just a bang bang rolling off your tongue
I wish words weren’t like little toy guns…

LittleToyGuns1FINAL

The argument that happens at the beginning of the video I attached to this post… could be a trigger for some of you who have parental issues in your pasts.  It was/is a trigger for me.  So, just a fair warning.

Listening to this song, this is another one of those days/nights when I feel incredibly fortunate to live where I do, in the country I do, that – despite objections from the zealous otherwise – has the well-being of all its citizens in mind, regardless of gender.

There are so many countries, so many cultures, that seem to believe that Men are the only ones worth anything – the only ones who will amount to anything.  Women are things to be had, to parade around when you happened upon a pretty one, to share with your friends.  Hell, some in some cultures are treated like trading cards.  Like your buddy’s wife and bored with yours?  No problem!  You two can just trade. She gets no say.

And yet with all the bullshit that I’ve gone through in my past, be it my childhood or my, albeit short, adulthood, I can very rarely say that the law/policy/authority figures were not on my side.  They didn’t ignore me just because I was a woman.

And even when it wasn’t a police/authority matter, I had the freedom to take things into my own hands.  The night I left home because I woke up to being punched… repeatedly… over eating a Reese Cup in the refrigerator?  I was freely ABLE to leave.  I was not owned by/legally obligated to stay with the male head of my household.  I could just go.  And go, I did.

I feel fortunate, that even in all the bad shit, there’s some good shit.  There is the ability to have good shit happen.

LittleToyGuns3FINAL

If we allow organizations like Womankind Worldwide to do their work in promoting rights for women in developing countries, and reducing violence against them… then maybe, just maybe, we can provide the same sort of hope for women in those countries that we have here, wherever ‘here’ is for you.

I absolutely ADORE this gown that Lybra is releasing for the Fashion For Change fundraising event organized by Eleseren Brianna, current reigning Miss Virtual World.  Something about all the intertwining black and white, separate, but all making up the same gorgeous design makes me think about gender equality within society as a whole.  Men and Women are different, yes.  But they are both necessary, to create a productive society.  If I said, “Meh, black isn’t a good enough color for this dress.  Let’s take it out.”  It would just be a boring white dress, with a bit of red.  Same if I said to remove the white.  Both colors are necessary for the gorgeous creation that Lybra has made.

And both Men and Women are just as important and integral for making a society function and flourish the way it should.  I, for one, hope that Womankind Worldwide can aid those countries that don’t see this importance… to see it.

To see it they way I do, the way a lot of us do, before it’s too late.

LittleToyGuns2FINAL

*~* It Ain’t A Pretty Picture Tonight… *~*

Shape: MINE
Skin: Amberly (Lovely Day; Asia Tone; Makeup Option 1) – Glam Affair  @ C88
Eyes: Hope Eyes (Fjord) – IKON
Hair: Ainsley (Gingers) – Truth Hair
Body: Lara Mesh Body (v3.0) – Maitreya
Hands: Avatar Enhancement Hands (Elegant) – Slink
Nailcolor Applier: Diva Set – Nailed It  @ On9
Lipstick: Essential Lipstick Red (Matte; Bright) – Pink Fuel
Gown: Nyala (Striped) – Lybra  @ Fashion For Change
Earrings & Necklace: Pearl Rain Season 3 Choker Set (Black) – Mandala
Silver Choker: Celtic Collar (Type E) – The Forge
Bracelet: Pearl Rain Season 3 Bracelet Set (Black) – Mandala
Ring: Royal Khadijah Estate Ring – Maxi Gossamer

Poses: various from PosESioN

Location: Home

Blogging Tune: “Little Toy Guns” – Carrie Underwood

Leave a Reply

