Hope If Everybody Runs, You Choose To Stay…

I did it all!
I owned every second that this world could give
I saw so many places, the things that I did
With every broken bone
I swear, I lived!

ILived3FINAL

I promise you, I couldn’t make this shit up if I tried…

Some of you know that I started a new job on the 6th, working in a call center about an hour from where I live.  So, because I live in one state and work in another, and work so far from home, it’s not like my training class is full of people that I know/have met.

That comes into play later in this story, I promise.

Some of you also know that I dislike dealing face to face with people.  Social anxiety takes over, the smallest things irritate me, and I become even more of a frigid bitch than I am normally.  (Shocker, I know!)  I can sit there and do customer service work over the phone all day long and never bat an eyelash, but being in the same room with all these clashing, strong personalities for 7 hours a day the last two days has been exhausting.

But yeah… back to my socially awkward in-person people skills.

Monday, we did a “Human Scavenger Hunt”, and I’m sure most of you have done one before, if you’ve ever been in a group situation that loved icebreakers.  We had a list of things… small, piddly things…. “wears glasses”, “is left handed”, etc etc.  And the goal was to walk around the room, get to know our class, and have someone sign something that fit them.  You could only sign someone’s paper once.  So, for example, I couldn’t sign under “wears glasses” AND “does volunteer work” on the same person’s paper.  It was meant as a “get to know you” thing.

Well someone in my class who seems about as socially awkward as I am sometimes, came up to me and the first words out of his mouth were, “I think I neeeeed you.”  (Remember, I type/spell how I – or, in this case, others – talk.)  Me trying to be smooth, or something even remotely resembling ‘cool’, responded with, “You neeeeed me, huh?  Whatchu need me for?”  We both laughed, I signed his paper for being left-handed (I’m ambidextrous), and i went on my way.

Then for the last two days, homeboy’s been staring at me.

And tonight… get this.  I live AN HOUR AWAY from where I work.  Homeboy FOLLOWED ME HOME tonight, got out his car when I got home, and said, “Girl, I just had to follow you home and let you know how into you I am.”

Um… I’m flattered, but you creepin’ me out.  Can you please leave?

Methinks it will be an early morning to hang out at the Orange Beach police department and figure out what can be done, protective order-wise, when I do have to work with him.

I promise there’s a point to this story.

ILived1FINAL

There are some women, in some countries, that don’t have the liberty that I do.  To be able to wake up in the morning, talk to my local police department, and have something done about this issue, no matter how small or isolated it may or may not do.

In fact, there are some women, in some countries, who would kill to trade places with me.  They only WISHED that having a mostly-sweet, semi-attractive man follow her home an hour from her workplace to tell her he was into her after knowing her less than 48 hours… they only WISHED that was the worst they had to deal with.

I’m lucky.  We’re lucky.  Those that have the ability and the means provided by our respective societies to take these matters into our own hands and have them dealt with appropriately.

Not all women have that.  And every woman deserves that choice.  That security.

Womankind Worldwide is a UK-based charity that does work internationally… working to give women a stronger voice in their own societies, fighting violence against them and girls, and working to generally promote women’s rights as a whole.  As a woman, even in a country that ultimately has a pretty strong women’s rights movement already, I feel we are all personally impacted in some way by the work that this charity does.  And it appears several people agree!

One of the most prominent is our current reigning Miss Virtual World, Eleseren Brianna.  This weekend opens her fundraiser, Fashion For Change, raising funds to support the amazing work of Womankind Worldwide.  Over the next several blog posts – now that my hard drive is reformatted and I have Photoshop back temporarily – I will be highlighting some wonderful creations by generous designers for this event.  I invite you to join us when the event opens this weekend, and consider providing support to women everywhere.  Womankind, Worldwide.  (As the aptly named charity states.)

ILived2FINAL

*~* Hope If Everybody Runs, You Choose To Stay *~*

Shape: MINE
Skin: Amberly Skin (Lovely Day; Asia Tone; Makeup Option 1) – Glam Affair  @ C88
Eyes: Hope Eyes (Fjord) – IKON
Hair: Nicole (Light Reds) – enVOGUE
Hands: Avatar Enhancement Hands (Elegant) – Slink
Nailcolor Applier: Monochrome Set (White) – Nailed It  @ On9
Lipstick: Glossy Pout (Hot Pink; Dark) – Pink Fuel
Top/Skirt: Lolita – Lyrical Bizarre Templates  @ Fashion For Change

Pose (pic 1): Pose 234 – slouch poses
Pose (pic 2): Golden 11 – PosESioN
Pose (pic 3): Oro 10 – PosESioN

Location: Home

Blogging Tune: “I Lived” – One Republic

Leave a Reply

